Customize

Blog: Why the Travoltas Shouldn't be Forced to be the Face of Autism

Discussion in 'Jett Travolta' started by Relyt, Jan 8, 2009.

1. Relyt Member

Blog: Why the Travoltas Shouldn't be Forced to be the Face of Autism

From an Autism blog page:

Time Out New York Kids: Blog Why the Travoltas shouldn't be forced to be the face of autism

Comments section is open. Be reasonable, be convincing.
  2. Mousey Member

Re: Blog: Why the Travoltas Shouldn't be Forced to be the Face of Autism

They aren't the face of autism, they're the face of people who come up with their own explanations for things instead of relying on "doctors" with "education".

They're blaming seizures on a rare infant disease that causes heart problems if left untreated. When facts and what people are saying don't line up, it's a good thing to point it out to them and say "Hey that's bullshit." I'm not a doctor though, so I can't say that Jett had autism.

Rather than making them the face of autism, I'd rather we made them the face of lying cultists.
  3. WTF Member

They are teh face of "not-isness".

not-isness=scn equiv. of denial
  4. Relyt Member

I think it's great to let people know that this isn't just an isolated event from people who happen to be Scientologists. It's something that was put on them by Scientology's policy, that they were unable to properly handle a situation based on lies they were told, and seemed to react more to PR than their son's situation.
  5. XenuLovesU Member

In every harpoon I've sent to editors or comments sections, I've studiously avoided mentioning both Kawasaki disease and autism.

I think both are red herrings, insomuch as it is incontrovertible that Jett suffered from Grand Mal seizures, as stated by the Travoltas themselves.

I don't want to get bogged down in peripheral arguments about Kawasaki and autism.

His death was caused by a seizure... and it's much easier to frame the argument with: