Customize

Georgia Anti-Mask Statute and Case Law

Discussion in 'Leaks & Legal' started by TacticalAnalyst, Mar 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Georgia Anti-Mask Statute and Case Law

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer. This does not constitute legal advice of any kind whatsoever. Please seek qualified legal counsel for your legal situation. I am not from Georgia.

Georgia Anti-Mask Law Part 1 of 3

There are some videos on YouTube documenting a protest on March 15, 2008 where two Anonymous protesters were arrested in DeKalb County, Georgia.

These videos can be found here:

http://www.youtube.com/user/InsanePacoTaco

Here in this post, I will not discuss the charges of those arrested, since I have not researched that topic, yet.

Instead, I will a particular aspect of the protest, which can be seen on this video:

YouTube - Atlanta Protest: DeKalb Police Address Anon

In this video, two officers crossed the highway and to address the protestors. They requested a spokesman from the group, but the protestors said there was none since Anonymous had no spokesmen.

Then the officers asked who had the protest permit, but none of them had one, since an official earlier told someone in their group they did not need one.

These two officers proceeded to address the crowd, claiming they observed several violations of law among the protestors. More specifically, they noticed that the group was wearing hoods, sunglasses, and dust masks, which were hiding or protecting the protestor’s identities.

This hiding of identity through facial concealment, was, according to them, a violation of law (except those with allergies, who can use the dusk masks).

Now, which particular law could disallow such concealment?

Most likely, that would be the Georgia Anti-Mask Law (OCGA 16-11-38), quoted as follows:

http://www.lawskills.com/code/ga/16/11/38/