Customize

A couple of thoughts

Discussion in 'Think Tank' started by ankhensenamen, Jun 13, 2008.

1. ankhensenamen Member

A couple of thoughts

It is Friday night, and usually I go drinking. But instead of my usually Friday night Merlot induced rantings and acting socially obnoxious. I stayed at home and tried to think of some way to get some serious Goverment attention on these issues.
    I am a tax professional by trade, and I have been researching that angle but a couple people I have been talking to brought up some things I have not considered.

First the ACLU, ya know I keep donating to these people I have my membership card around here somewhere, are they suppose to be protecting freedom or something? Can we contact them? I personally have not been harmed but the website has this message -
    I feel my rights were violated, who can help?
    Contact your local ACLU affiliate about your experience.
    That must apply to someone here.

Second, someone mentioned the whistle blower protection laws. I am not sure but some ex staff that are still being harrassed may have a case.

I am still working on my tax research, unfortuately I do have a very busy work life and as a partner I have to have a minium amount of billable hours each month, that cuts into my research for a just cause time, but I will share what I come up with.

I have written some passable tax opinions in the past, but with this one I want my final product to be poetry.

Also the IRS National Tax Forums are coming up...and yes they are as fun as they sound... I plan on getting some insight into what they are looking at as far as tax exempt abuses are concerned.

Oh and if my spelling and grammar sux...remember I am still drinking.

After pondering some more I think we should try to get a private letter ruling from the IRS.
    I would like to find an angle not previously explored.
    One - can a business arbitrary change it's status to a religion?