Customize

DMCA taking down guitar tab

Discussion in 'Projects' started by Vincent Watts, Jan 9, 2014.

1. Vincent Watts Member

Publishers like Hal Leonard and Cherry Lane are having guitar tabs taken offline as they claim they are the only ones given permission to interpret how to play certain music. They are claiming that any sharing of a visual representation and how to play protected songs is illegal as they alone on the rights to do so. They claim this power is given to them directly by the artists.
    I feel this goes against the values of freedom of information. I would like to help do something about this, but I am brand new in this movement. I started a petition a long time ago but nobody signed. I could use stone help and suggestions.
  2. Anonymous Member

Not knowing anything, I would think that scanning and uploading published musical scores would be infringement. But listening to a song, writing down the lyrics, writing chord changes over the lyrics, and sharing this amateur info with others would be fair use provided nobody was making any money from the effort.

But maybe there are web sites that earn money somehow from collections of tabs. In that case, I guess the owner of the copyright might have grounds for requesting removal of their songs from the tab library. But I don't think most musicians would care. In fact, people learning songs makes them more popular and probably boosts sheet music sales.

So I guess I'd respond by creating a web site listing people who don't want guitar tabs of their music shared. Then everyone can avoid those songs like the plague and the copyright holders can enjoy feeling lonely.
    • Like Like x 3
  3. Vincent Watts Member

Pretty good idea. I'll start collecting the info.