Customize

Split from The Green Brief

Discussion in 'Iran' started by Unregistered, Jun 17, 2009.

1. Im very confused. Iranians I've talked with in Sweden says that changing president to mousavi will not give the people of Iran the freedom they deserve and thats he's just another puppet for the ayatollas. Are people really sacrificing their lives for this or is there something else they are expecting, like a complete change in the regime and ultimatly making Iran a secular democracy?
  2. The new regime must stop trying to suppress the Internet.

The secret police have to go too.
  3. the women's rights issue alone is reason enough to support the resistance, not to mention the freedom of speech issue, the honest democracy issue, and the ahmadinejad-is-batshit-insane issue.
  4. Noobfag Member

I'm no expert, but my perception of it is that the stealing of the election was sort of the straw that broke the camel's back. The Supreme Leader, of course, is the one who calls the shots as the "highest ranking political and religious authority of the nation" (source). So that wouldn't change because of the election.

However, it is my personal speculation that with a country full of so many young people who have had access to the global world via the internet for such a long time it is inevitable that they will want to be free-er than they are. That is not to say that they dishonor their heritage and religion at all, but that like most humble citizens, all we want is peace. Having a leader who wants to reduce foreign tension and acknowledges the Holocaust is a big step in that direction.

</speculation>
  5. Iranians want their votes to be honored