Customize

The Green Brief #37 (July 23)

Discussion in 'Green Brief' started by NiteOwl, Jul 23, 2009.

1. NiteOwl Member

I'm NiteOwl AKA Josh Shahryar - twitter.com/iran_translator on twitter. I'm a journalist and a human rights activist and NOT Iranian. This is a compilation of news from Iran that I've gathered through twitter and Iranian sites that were advertised on twitter. Remember, this is all from tweets. (My work is released under Creative Commons (CC).)

These are the important happenings that I can positively confirm from Thursday, July 23 .

In German: http://tinyurl.com/ld63l5

In Hebrew: http://tinyurl.com/mnyuvq

In Italian: http://tinyurl.com/ktc5bo

In Polish: http://glosiranu.blog.pl/archiwum/index.php?nid=14413966

In Russian: http://tinyurl.com/ljbs3j

In Spanish: http://tinyurl.com/kvkp8t

In Swedish: http://greenbrief.blogspot.com/

Protests / Unrest

1. Dozens of Iranian-Armenians and Iranians protested in front of Caspian Airline’s office in Tehran today. A journalist covering the protests was arrested, but later freed. The protesters demanded to know why a Caspian Airline’s flight from Tehran to Yerevan, Armenia crashed near Qazvin more than a week ago. Security forces dispersed the protesters. Iranian Government Officials have said that it will take another 2 months to complete their investigation.

2. The hunger strike in front of the UN building in New York continued today, despite the pouring rain. Protesters sang songs from the revolution of 1979 and demanded that Iranian rights be safeguarded. Protesters declared their opposition to any military action against Iran. See pictures below – compliments of Mehdi Saharkhiz: onlymehdi, People singing so many ppl even in the rain