Customize

TOR USERS - IMPORTANT

Discussion in 'News and Current Events' started by Me, Feb 27, 2008.

1. Me Member

TOR USERS - IMPORTANT

I've been running TOR/Vidalia for a while, and last time I checked (about a week and a half ago) it was running fine.

However I've just checked it again and have found that it is no longer masking my IP.

Whether this is because it's been hacked in some way I don't know; I'm not too technically minded, however it would certainly be a sensible thing to do, given the number of Anons using it.

I'd recommend going to whatismyip.com or similar. Making a note of the IP, and (then if you don't know your own IP) trying again without TOR .

This may just be something that's happened to me, and I hope that it is. However, I thought I'd let ppl know in case it is a more general problem.

If you're happy to post a ye or a ne below, it will enable the extent of the problem to be seen, or hopefully that there's not a general problem at all.

Cheers.
  2. flubbardly Member

Re: TOR USERS - IMPORTANT

tor/vidalia works super for me.
  3. deadacc19225 Member

TOR working as normal here.

Deadacc recommends using an alternate identity on a public computer through at least two public (even web-based) proxies for news-watching until you isolate the problem. YMMV.
  4. Me Member

Thanks man, tis odd as well as being a bit of a bitch.

Such is the life of us revolutionaries I guess!
  5. TakeAnonMe Member

If you're worried about this, there are a couple Firefox plugins that show your external IP in the status bar.
  6. Re: TOR USERS - IMPORTANT

What's the name of this plugin? Link?

7. Re: TOR USERS - IMPORTANT

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3372
  8. Me Member

Thanks, cos it is quite odd. I'll stick that add-on on though.

For now it does seem to be "resolved", though I don't know what had caused it. There was nothing obviously amiss so I just unistalled and reinstalled.
    Will keep more of an eye on it though in future.